Yesterday was the ‘don’t be scared’ smoothie talk (see Smoothie 411, part 1).  Today we move to the fun, creative part of smoothie goodness.

Add in ideas:

  • dark chocolate cocoa – to taste
  • sweetener of choice – stevia/Splenda/honey/etc to taste
  • oats – blend the night before & leave it in the refrigerator
  • protein powder – I just ordered some, but I have yet to try it.  Optional really for recipes you stumble upon.
  • ground flax – Once I’m out of flax I’m going to try out chia seeds.  Chia seeds are more expensive, but I’ve been reading they are quite the nutrition powerhouse.  You can also leave these out of recipes you may find on the web.
  • substitute kale for spinach – Kale has a stronger taste, so substitute spinach for recipes you find on the web.  Kale tends to be cheaper than spinach, but the organic bunches probably equate to about the same depending on the season.
  • cucumber – 1/4 of a medium peeled
  • celery – 1/3 of a stalk is my max per smoothie
  • cinnamon – or other yummy spices like nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice blends, etc
  • nut butters – peanut butter, almond butter, whatever you have or want to try

It totally never occurred to me to treat these concoctions as something that can be eaten with a spoon.  What was I thinking?!?!  It was a glorious day when I ran across a blog with the unique name of… (drum roll please)… Sprinkle Massacre.  Jillian (the author) and her beau are crazy about sprinkles, and she has opened the door to the world of making these smoothie concoctions yummy meals for me.  Before I pour it in a bowl I generally blend, put it in the freezer for 15-30 minutes (while I get dressed or make my lunch), and then get creative.

Toppings:

  • whipped cream – redi-whip, fat free, sugar free… whatever floats your boat! I’m a fat free Cool Whip girl myself
  • fresh fruit
  • nuts – I’m a walnut fanatic.
  • cereal – I like crunch.  I’ve got a baggie of Uncle Sam cereal here at work thanks to the inspiration blog.
  • granola
  • bars – crumble up your healthy bars
  • graham crackers – crumble ’em up
  • nut butters – I like to heat up a little almond butter to swirl in.
  • SPRINKLES – Sprinkles breed happiness.  They make your smoothie go from good to WOW!  Try it out.  You’ll see.

Play around with what works for you.  I try to keep mine in the ‘healthy’ range of add ins or toppings, and I treat it like a meal when I start adding high calorie nut related add ins. 

Feel free to toss some ideas of your own in the comments area.  I love smoothie ideas!

And I leave you with today’s beauty.

Blackberry Beauty

  • 1/3 large frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen blackberries
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • kale to the top

Topped with thawed blackberries, a large dollup of fat free Cool Whip, Uncle Sam cereal & SPRINKLES!!!

